Fit to fight - Muay Thai

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by scooperman, Sep 8, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys

Thought I would post this up here as I know that a few of you are keen fighters.

I have been training Muay Thai for 6 months now, after training in a couple of traditional martial arts, and am loving every minute of it. So much so, that I would like to start taking things to the next level, in both training, and fitness.

The problem is, I can make it to 3 - 4 hour long classes per week, so I need a decent idea for an all round strength, speed and endurance programme for the rest of the week. Lots of long distance running is out for the time being, as i'm quite heavy (6'4 149lbs). I have beasted 5 x 5 sets of olympic lifts for a while and am now feeling a little weighty for it. I have access to a well equipped gym, and barbells, dumbells, gym ball + skipping rope at home.

I was looking for an advanced set of circuits that will push my CV fitness up, but also my functional strength, speed and flexibility.

Any ideas?

Thanks guys
  2. Not trying to be funny, and wish you well here, but... I remember a bodybuilder I knew, aged about 30, getting heart pains for overdoing it. If you have 12 hours spare a week, have you thought about a part time job that would get you lifting heavy weights and moving around at the same time? It might be healthier and you could earn some spare cash. It all depends on where you live of course, but maybe a hospital laundry or butcher's delivery firm might be able to offer you something. Furniture removal companies are another possibility, but sooner or later you have to move a piano, so perhaps not.

Just my tuppence worth, I am sure a knowledgeable person will post a challenging set of exercises for you. I'll stick to lifting my soup spoon and lusting after Matron.