First World War books

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by derfel, Sep 10, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Afternoon Gents,

I'm opening myself up to some abuse here by admitting that yes, i am a student. However i'm starting an MA in October and thought you splendid chaps may be able to help. (creeping over :p)

Anyone know of any books dealing with the Military Police in the First World War? Specifically my dissertation will be about the punishment system used by the British army so anything like that would be useful for me. Also does anyone know of any autobiographies of senior commanders, Haig, Rawlinson, Smith-Dorrien (of Isandlwhana fame) and the like.

Cheers in advance

oh and by the way, the first topic i posted way back in april or whenever was on the behalf of my dad, so i havent just had a change from being a Staff Sergeant with 22 years to an MA student. Just in case, i know how suspicious some people can be. Ta!

2. derfel,

I live in Ypres and am ex RMP. There is not much on the market covering the MFP or MMP in WW1 although I am reliably told therer is a book in the pipeline awaiting completion and publishing.
    When looking at the high rankers of the First War do not fall into the trap that soldiers were all "Lions led by Donkeys". Stay well away from any book written by John Laffin on the High Command. It is extremley biased and does not show the true picture. If you can get a copy of John Terrains book "Douglas Haig, The Educated Soldier". It is a great book that highlights Haigs command very well.
    "Shot at Dawn" by Julian Putkowski and Julian Sykes looks at every Brit soldier executed during WW1 and is handy for reference. Another good reference book is Anthony Babingtons "For the sake of example" which covers the capital courts martials from 1914-20.