First Motorbike suggestions

Discussion in 'Cars, Bikes 'n AFVs' started by Hexitele, Jan 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. All being well I'll have finished my DAS course next month and will be after a bike.

I'm a complete moto novice so only know what I've googled on the subject.

Ideal budget of £1500 (max) as I'm not made of money and expect to drop it every now and then.

Looking for a 500cc + and a comfortable riding position for an over 6footer as just looking at sports bikes makes my back ache.

Any ideas?

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)

2. Two of my favorite non-US, decent sized, street bikes that I have owned were a Honda Ascot 500 and a Norton 850...

I also had a couple of antique BSA's but those are most likely unobtainium these days... (1937 G14 and a 1967 A65)

• Like Like x 2
  3. Yamaha Diversion 900

- shaft drive (no chains & lube)
    - air cooled (no plumbing & pumps)
    - half faired (cheap to repair scrapes)
    - low pegs/high bars/good aerodynamics = comfy for tall riders

4. (Hinkley) Outside his price range
    (Meriden) Gear lever & rear brake wrong way round, also spares might be hard to get.

Look at getting a Suzuki Bandit, Honda Hornet or Yamaha Fazer.

Fazer, detuned Thundercat engine, fairly stylish all rounder, all half faired, weak headlights (probably sorted but hardwiring both together, if not, consider a HID kit)

Hornet, detuned CBR600F engine (pre-2000 carbed version), mostly naked, but plenty of half faired bikes out there. Always does what it says in the tin, totally solid, but maybe a bit bland.