Field Kit And So On

Discussion in 'ACF' started by amjustme, Oct 17, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am relatively new in the ranks of the ACF as an Instructor and I wondered if people might offer me some advice.

I have no desire to prance around looking like some wannabe SF Gucci model (although I did manage to get my SF Wings, Green Beret, Sniper, Diver and every other qualification you can think of within six months of starting to play fantasy soldier online just after I retook the world single-handed) but......

1) Stores kit is not abundant and better left for the Cadets themselves
    2) I am conscious that our role as youth organisation means I am more likely to need a domestic type first aid kit than three field dressings' a full NBC suit and kevlar helmet.
    3) Although I can afford to buy things for the role I do not want to spend huge amounts on things that make people either extract the urine or simply never get used even though they looked all nice and shiny in the shop.

I have asked around the detachment and thought would seek advice here. I have bought a decent pair of boots as foot comfort is something that at my age is important.

For example:

1) Merits of vests over webbing? Viper do a South African pattern vest in DPM for thirty quid as opposed to Webtex for £70 - £80 or PLCE at £120. Is it strong enough? Can't see the point in spending a fortune on kit that is IRR if the cheaper version is fit for purpose. Also is having it sewn onto one garment useful?

2) What would other AI's see as necessary kit? For myself I thought in no particular order

First aid kit
    Notebook
    Small multi-tool
    Whistle (if only to start and finish sessions)
    Water bottle, mug, cooker, eating irons, mess tins
    Bungees
    ZIPPO lighter
    Water proofs
    Basha
    Torch