Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Awol, May 18, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. OK , So i am an Advanced driver, I am also trained in fire arms, but i am not in the police. Do you think i would have been able to get away with going that speed? I think not.

Ok he was seeing what the car can do, surely they have test tracks for that sort of thing. And you dont hone your skills on the road at going more than double the legal speed whilst putting every one in danger.
    Even advanced drivers cannot say the actions of other idiots on the road, you have to second guess half the time.

He should be made to walk the beat, and loose his license at least.
  2. Got to agree AWOL. So, next time the beak drags me up for doing over the ton I can use this case as an example? My excuse could be 'I was honing my skills as a pilot by 'driving low level and at high speed simulating the effect of flying in a hostile environment..your honour...'

Was he on duty, on a shout? Was he cleared and authorised? Was he undergoing or giving instruction? When would a Police officer be required to ever drive at 159mph? I thought thats why they have helis now. Sounds like a big bag of bull.

My Black Rat traffic pals over at the Met tell me that they cannot drive above the speed limit unless they are on a call or on official training cleared by the appropriate channels.
  3. Auld-Yin

Auld-Yin LE Reviewer Book Reviewer Reviews Editor

It is always difficult to make a complete judgement from brief newspaper or media reports. However i find it difficult to empathise with this PC. he may be very highly trained in driving and skilled in the use of vehicles. But the other people using the roads certainly ain't and if he is travelling at that speed how can he react properly so someone else's driving?