Female GDMO - advice wanted please

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by medicclaire, Aug 22, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'm currently a medical student and I'm considering applying for the cadetship but I have a couple of questions that are bothering me and I'd appreciate any advice from people who are in the same situation.

As you've probably figured, I'm female and I'll be 29 when I graduate. The questions that I have are basically how compatible a career as a GDMO is with a family life. My partner and I are both wanting children, but I just don't know how that would fit in with Army life. My partner is also a medic and isn't really keen on the idea of being a house husband, or with me being away for long periods of time but doesn't mind the idea of moving around as and when needed.

I'd appreciate any advice or opinions from people who have been in a similar situation. I've had very mixed views so far but only from couples where it is the man who is in the forces and not the woman & I'd like to hear how people have found it that way round.

Many thanks
    Claire

2. Thought some 1 had 2 reply to ur post!!!! i know nothing about GDMO's like but never mind....if u do become an MO and end up in a med section.......do us all a favour and stick to the MOing side of things and don't try and be a leader.....
    happy MOing x

3. lol - no worries! I'm currently in the TA in a med unit (as AGC tho, not medic) and I don't know if it is a MO thing or a TA thing or both but most couldn't manage to organise the proverbial piss up in a brewery so I know where you're coming from!

4. The thing to bear in mind is that the GDMO time is basically an 18 month hiatus in the "normal" career progression. After which, you essentially follow the GP or secondary care routes through medicine.