Fat G1t thinking of joining... advice please

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Mighty-Quattro, Nov 9, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Gents,

Been a lurker on arrse for a while now although a civvy, but enjoy the banter.

For the past 6 months I've been getting rid of excess tonnage through diet and excercise (mainly cycling) and I've dropped 7 stone. Although still a fat git I am confident having done that much I can get down to a decent weight by adding some running too and want to keep it that way. I'd also like to do something worthwhile with my spare time so I thinking of applying to join my local unit (RA), possibly with a view to transferring to a REME detachment if successful (I am an engineer by profession). Quite willing to deploy if required, no family commitments so ideal for me in the situation I am in.

My question is, should I drop the rest of the excess weight before rocking up down there, or go straight for it? Or would I be better dropping down to the local ACIO instead of the unit?

All advice gratefully received - useful advice even more so.

2. Unfortunately,the BMI thing will trip you up at selection so sort that out first.Best of luck
  3. I'd get down to a decent weight/size, and 1.5 mile run time before turning up.

On a recent RSC one of the recruits failed the medical and got deferred cos of their BMI even though they didn't look too overweight.

Good luck, if you've shed 7 stone it shows your pretty keen already.
  4. What's your run time (not treadmill run time). I know a lad who dropped his weight from 18st and after 18 weeks of training was down to 10:20 from 14mins, so anything is possible.
  5. I don't know much about recruitment, but well done on shifting 7 stone!