Faster more reliable ARRSE - SITREP

Discussion in 'ARRSE: Site Issues' started by Good CO, Feb 2, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good CO

Good CO LE Admin

We agreed yesterday with Merula to go ahead with the dedicated server (mentioned everywhere else to support our scrounging). The server is in place, much faster (Pentium 2.4 instead of the shared Celeron 800 we're on now for those interested). This should make a huge difference as the site software is very demanding on processor time and we shouldn't keep crashing it. Notice my use of "should" - no plan survives first etc.

This also should happen fairly quickly - I'm hoping within a week, but not promising.

That's it. Bear with it in the mean time please.

2. As an IT expert, I'd like to contribute some of my knowledge on making this new server go even faster. Locate the server casing, and with a tin of red paint, paint stripes down each side. Go faster stripes never fail to increase speed, and women love them.

3. Don't forget a 'neon blue strip light' in the casing itself. I aways thougt it was just 'a light' until I tried one in my computer. But, since it was fitted and switched on, you just wouldn't believe how quick it has become and it remains much more stable.

Well, that's my 'top tip' :idea:

4. And further to PP's suggestion, you may want to exchange the case fan for a blue clear plastic one with LED's in it that spin round. I was shocked at the increase in performance since installing one :)