FAS, FIS and "rangers"

Discussion in 'Staff College and Staff Officers' started by Luke_L, Jul 9, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys,
    I'm a postgrad student doing MA defence/security at Lancaster uni, formerly home of CDISS. Ive decided to do my dissertation on the re-roling of 1para into a "ranger" style battalion, how easy this transition will be, how it will affect the military's fighting capability, what exactly the changes will involve and so on.
    So far Im not having much luck with contacting people who might prove useful in aiding me with my research. Ive tried MoD, Janes defence group, RUSI, CDISS and havent even got a reply from them as yet.
    I was wondering if anybody here might have any ideas about people they think might be worth contacting about the re-roling of 1para under FAS. Im pretty keen to contact senior officers within 1 para to get their view on the proposed changes but so far havent even been able to find a contact address/email for 1para (are they based in dover?).

Any help on this guys would really really really be appreciated.

Cheers, Luke.
  2. Hello Luke,

You're probably going to need to prove your credentials before you get to meet with the senior officers within 1 PARA (CO would be the ideal obviously, but I'm guessing that he'll be pretty busy at the minute) or indead the DSF people (if they are even prepared to help with this sort of thing -I'm pretty sure that they are not mandated to do so).