Falklands Exped: help required.

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by BUOTC, Jun 1, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all!

Im a Officer Cadet from Bristol UOTC, im part of an exped to the Islands in July, our intention is to visit and pay our respect at as many of the battlefields as possible. We will be tabbing from San Carlos back to Stanley via Goose Green, and although none of us were even born at the time, the actions of the heroes that went there has our total admiration.

My point however is, we are lacking somewhat in detailed knowledge on the campaign itself, we are aware of the tragedies of the Sir Galahad, the VC's, the tabs, tumbledown, etc. But what would be best would be to speak directly to those who were there, as it would bring a personal side to the trip and make it an even more rewarding experience. So could people get in touch or even just post any stories they may have, as the more background knowledge we have the better. (or even if you have any suggestions that might be a better way to go about it!)

Also, can anyone recommend books to read? so far have read

"With 3Para to the Falklands" by G. Colbeck
    and "The Battle for the Falklands" by M. Hastings & S. Jenkins

Basically, any help will be much appreciated!

regards

BUOTC

2. Check PM
    WW

3. Check pm

4. Check PM.

5. Check PM.

6. I'd recommend reading.

'Goose Green a battle is fought to be won' by Mark Adkin.

'3 Para: Mount Longdon' by Jon Cooksey

'No Picnic, 3 Commando Brigade in the Falklands' by Major General Julian Thompson.

7. We have a Falklands Guide who would be very happy to help.

He is a Falklands Veteran and is leading our tour in November as well as some walking tours we have scheduled next year.

Check you PM for a contact number for me

8. Falklands Commando Hugh McManners
    SBN # 0-71830-532-9