Falklands Dissertation

Discussion in 'Falkland Islands (Op CORPORATE)' started by 10055991, Dec 1, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I'm sorry to repeat a previous post, yet am going to do so.

I am looking for any Parachute Regiment Falklands veterans who may be able to help. I am currently in my final year of a History degree and as part of my dissertation I am looking to interview veterans of the conflict as of January 2012. Any questions I ask will be ratified by the interviewee beforehand.

The aim of the piece of work is to demonstrate the role of the regiment, and any input people with first-hand knowledge can provide would be fantastic.

The approach I am taking is an oral history/social account of the soldiers of the conflict. I understand fully that there have been numerous books written on the war and so I don't need help with finding this literature. If anybody is willing to talk of their experiences of the time (it doesn't even have to be centred on events on the Islands, it can be the build up or the aftermath) then I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for your help.
  2. Try Pararegtom. He should be able to help or at least point you in the right direction.
  3. 10055991 -
    Being American and with no experience in HM's forces and never having been to the Falklands it may be a bit odd to offer advice but I have a thought for you.

An academic who served there might be more sympathetic to interviews for a dissertation. My son attended an independent school in the UK and the current Headmaster is Clive Dytor, MC, MA(Cantab), MA(Oxon) who served as an officer in 45 Commando, Royal Marines in the Falklands where he earned the MC. I do not know if he would help but nothing ventured, nothing gained.

The school is in Oxfordshire near Reading in Berks.
    The address etc is:
    The Oratory School