Facebook owns the licence to your uploaded photos!

#1
MrsCR noticed this on the Terms and Conditions for Facebook.

When you post User Content to the Site, you authorise and direct us to make such copies thereof as we deem necessary in order to facilitate the posting and storage of the User Content on the Site. By posting User Content to any part of the Site, you automatically grant, and you represent and warrant that you have the right to grant, to the Company an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide licence (with the right to sublicence) to use, copy, publicly perform, publicly display, reformat, translate, excerpt (in whole or in part) and distribute such User Content for any purpose, commercial, advertising, or otherwise, on or in connection with the Site or the promotion thereof, to prepare derivative works of, or incorporate into other works, such User Content, and to grant and authorise sublicences of the foregoing. You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the licence granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content. Facebook does not assert any ownership over your User Content; rather, as between us and you, subject to the rights granted to us in these Terms, you retain full ownership of all of your User Content and any intellectual property rights or other proprietary rights associated with your User Content.
Have removed all photos bar one profile pic from Facebook. Any pics you leave on there mean you are granting Facebook the worldwide licence to do whatever they want with them.

Sneaky cunts.
 
#3
CRmeansCeilingReached said:
MrsCR noticed this on the Terms and Conditions for Facebook.

When you post User Content to the Site, blah, blah


How else do you expect them to treat your pics? Ask you individually every time someone somewhere in the world wants to view one in their browser?
 
#4
Facebook does not assert any ownership over your User Content; rather, as between us and you, subject to the rights granted to us in these Terms, you retain full ownership of all of your User Content and any intellectual property rights or other proprietary rights associated with your User Content.
I thought the heading was a bit misleading, and improbable! The rest as msr pointed out, is par for the course.
 

Biped

LE
Book Reviewer
#5
You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the licence granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content.
Does that help you?
 
#6
If you upload Hi-res' images it might be a problem but if you upload a 72dpi 800x600 jobbie there's not a lot they can do with it surley? And at the end of the day they might be able to to try to sell your images but they can't stop you selling the high resolution shots on your hard drive.
 
#7
CRmeansCeilingReached said:
MrsCR noticed this on the Terms and Conditions for Facebook.

When you post User Content to the Site, you authorise and direct us to make such copies thereof as we deem necessary in order to facilitate the posting and storage of the User Content on the Site. By posting User Content to any part of the Site, you automatically grant, and you represent and warrant that you have the right to grant, to the Company an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide licence (with the right to sublicence) to use, copy, publicly perform, publicly display, reformat, translate, excerpt (in whole or in part) and distribute such User Content for any purpose, commercial, advertising, or otherwise, on or in connection with the Site or the promotion thereof, to prepare derivative works of, or incorporate into other works, such User Content, and to grant and authorise sublicences of the foregoing. You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the licence granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content. Facebook does not assert any ownership over your User Content; rather, as between us and you, subject to the rights granted to us in these Terms, you retain full ownership of all of your User Content and any intellectual property rights or other proprietary rights associated with your User Content.
Have removed all photos bar one profile pic from Facebook. Any pics you leave on there mean you are granting Facebook the worldwide licence to do whatever they want with them.

Sneaky cnuts.
You still own any rights to your content. They are stating that in uploading you are allowing them to let people see them. If you don't want people to see your pictures then don't put them up.
 

Similar threads


Latest Threads

Top