Ex Sappers in Construction

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by Sunshineboy, Jun 2, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

Just starting a thread for ex sappers who are now working in civilian construction like myself.

It would be a good idea if we could develope a social network to help each other out ie. guys just leaveing the corps, blokes out of work, blokes unhappy with thier current job and blokes who are self employed and want to pick up work.

I currently work as a site engineer in the midlands, i'm happy at the moment but had a few bad experiences upon leaveing.

Just introduce yourself and what you're doing or what you need.

Sunshineboy

2. Good idea, if you also go onto oldengineers.co.uk you will find many like minded ex sappers, some still doing construction work

3. left the Corps December 06, currently working in an office would love to get into construction but havent got a clue about where to go etc, im defo something more than a labourer, any tips? ideas? currently living in Brum

4. Hello Spitlock,

Labourer is the first step on the ladder, a bit like the rank "sapper" on the Corp. Its a good starting point and can be decent money, from their you could start trade training at night or go on a course to get a ticket to drive plant. I wouldn't start too far up the ladder because you can have bad experiences and it put you off for life.