Ex-Forces Offenders in the Criminal Justice System

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Finbarre101, Dec 16, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm new to ARRSE, however, I'm currently a Probation Service Officer in Cheshire with 16 yrs in the Army from a previous life. I am in the process of helping identify Veterans, (still not sure that's a suitable 'handle' for ex-servicemen and women), who have got themselves in trouble with the law and end up arrested, in court, in custody, or on Probation. After identification, we signpost Vet's to the service charities and make sure they get the support they may need which will hopefully stop them re-offending.
    Are there any Vet's out there with experience of either working for the CJS as either police, prison officers or probation with ideas to improve the 'system', or vet's who have found themselves in trouble with the law and have been thro' the system themselves :?
  2. I run a Social Enterprise called Military Mental Health Community Interest Company. We are developing a primary care model for supporting veterans experiencing psychological distress. Currently we are on a steering board for improving mental health provision for veterans in the north west with NHS North West and others including Turning Point and Job Centre Plus and we are discussing commissioning with PCT's to provide Veteran Psychological Wellbeing Practitioners and Veteran Peer support Workers. We also deliver Veterans Mental Health Awareness Workshops designed to provide an insight for Health, Social care and Criminal Justice Services as well as the Job Centre

If you are interested to discuss how we could work in partnership PM me and I will discuss a meeting with you. I think we could work well together.