Ex Brit Military wanting to join US Military!

Discussion in 'Multinational HQ' started by undercracker, Oct 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Rare as it may sound, this is a few serious questions for our American chums here,

I am a former Brit soldier, left as a Sergeant with 12 years experience two years ago to come and live over here in the US with my American wife, who I met while on an exchange in Washington DC. I have served in both the Balkans conflicts, Afghanistan and Iraq also.

Although I am somewhat settled into civi life here in Seattle with my greencard, I am finding myself missing the army and have recently been contemplating joining one of your services. I'm going to the careers offices fairly soon to have a chat with those blokes, however, I wouldn't mind a couple of straight answers from you guys, if you have any knowledge of recruiting, etc.

1. Do you reckon my previous service in the Brit army would be taken into consideration at all? Of course, I could join as a private, even at the ripe old age of 32 your fitness standards look fairly lax to me :) - however, I have a lot of skills that I reckon could only benefit your mob, and it would be a bit daft to join at the bottom of the heap.

2. Daft or not, if I did have to join as a sprog, what would the instructors make of me? I did a stint teaching recruits myself in Winchester a few years back, so that could be interesting.