Equal opportunities?

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by call_me_jack, Sep 25, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. As a long time lurker and virgin poster on ARRSE I am looking for a serious answer to a serious question (opinions and humourous comments would also be appreciated). I am fully aware that this will start the usual "Journo witchhunt" however I can assure you that I am a serving soldier (JNCO) and am turning to ARRSE for an answer as my unit EO officer would not appreciate being asked a difficult question such as this. (suspense built up sufficiently yet?)

My question is regarding the Army's equal opportunites policy. I support this policy however feel that it is not being implemented thouroughly in regard to fitness standards. In several of the army's Fitness assesments/tests there is a gap in the requirements for male and female results, surely if they are expected to do the same job for the same rate of pay then they should be expected to meet the same standards in all tests/assesments pertinent to that job.

By this point many people will be viewing this as a gripe and making various predictions as to why I should care, to address your possible questions I will give further information:
    - I am male
    - I am not a sexist/male shauvnist(sp?)
    - I personaly have no trouble in meeting any of the fitness requirements expected of me
    - I have not been passed over for promotion or choice of posting in favour of a female
    - I have no personal reason to be bitter about this inequality

The reason is easily explained by a hyopthetical situation: