Epsom & Ewell Council refuse Local Regimental Parade

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by EpsomRegimental, Nov 23, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I think this is the right place to be posting this, but apologies if it's not (and would a helpful Mod please move) and sorry for what could be a longish post!

I'll admit to not being a regular on these boards apart from the odd trawl for a belly laugh or two whenever one of my service mates points out a post to me, but this is important enough to have me registering and posting for the first time.

I'm a resident in Epsom & Ewell, just up the road from Headley Court Rehab Centre. A week or two ago, one of our local Councillors put in a proposal to Borough Council for our local Regiment, Princess of Wales' Royal Regiment, to be given the Freedom of the Borough and a parade through the town when they get back from Afghanistan.

On the eve of Remembrance Day, and in the face of all the public support for our troops, the Committee voted against it 5 to 1.

Their reason was that the Regimental HQ is in Guildford, and that just wasn't 'local' enough for them. Never mind Headley Court, never mind the Borough next to ours giving them Freedom of their Borough (no nearer to Guildford), and never mind the fact that the Epsom TA is attached to the regiment.