Enlisting into the AGC at 30.

I am thirty years of age and a graduate. I have been working in financial services for the last number of years and am currently in a supervisory position. I’m also a part qualified accountant with at least two more years of exams away from being fully qualified.

I have always wanted to join the military however as the lifestyle and idea of service appeals to me. I am considering the AGC and SPS in particular as I believe this would suit my individual skill set and I believe I could put my experience to some more worthwhile use within the forces.

I am too old to apply for a commission in the Army but did so for the RAF and was told that I was too “old and bold” to be considered even to go to OASC (The RAF version of AOSB).

I am wondering what the promotion prospects enlisting at thirty would be for someone who is motivated, has experience, qualification and should be a qualified accountant in a few years. I understand that the first years would be taken up with quite basic level work but this time could be put to good use working towards my ACCA.

I understand that more money is available in private sector and the difficulty of the age gap on joining. What would promotion prospects up to NCO be like at my age and would an LE commission be possible? All this assumes going for it, getting in and being any good of course!

Oh and I’m male if that makes a difference!

B

bumgrapes

Don't worry, the others you serve with of a similar age will accept you as a peer and equal. Rank won't be an issue.

When you get in. Make sure you show your instructors that you think they are 'alright', even if thy are a bit younger.

Hope that helps

Auldsod, bumgrapes is on the register and only replied so he can show his PO that he can interact with older people 18+. In basic its common to go out drinking with your DS to show you fit in

ugly

LE