Employment Protection

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by VerminWA, May 8, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am expecting a brown envelope to slap on my mat very soon and was wondering where I stand in respect to employment protection. I'm a contractor on a 6 month contract that has a 90% chance of being extended, the date I've been given will mean that I will have to leave that contract after 3 months. Does anyone know how or if there is any protection offered to people in my position? What will happen if I struggle to find another contract on my return to blighty? Is it just a matter of we finish paying you on this date, after that you are on your own?

I am fully expecting the answer to be "tough sh1t son, your stuffed!" I will still go but you never know there might be someone out there that knows better and can allay one or two of my worries.

2. Technically under the Reserve Forces Act you are protected and have the right to redress (but not in employment tribunal) if your contract is terminated as a result of mobilisation.

The reality is that because you are on a fixed term contract you have no legal rights for the contract to be maintained, extended or renewed whilst you are mobilised, contractual notice would be all you would probably win - a weeks pay! Likewise your former employers, if they give a reference at all, should only make factual statements about reason for non renewal of your FTC so it may give the game away of you said your took some time off and the reference says you had been mobilised. I have already mentioned in another thread about the legality of discrimination on grounds of reserve forces membership and guess you may find people are a bit awkward if they think you may get pinged again, best keep quite unless asked but have an answer ready if they do raise it.