Electronics Warfare Operator VS RAF 90 Signals Unit

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by jammy137, Aug 23, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Morning all!

I'm having a bit of a crisis of which forces to join (I know some of you may be slightly more biased against the RAF :))

However, I'm trying to work out which role I want to go into - I'm working towards the Army's higher fitness standards at the moment and I'm currently an IT Engineer so I have plenty of Tech experience).

Basically what it comes down to is a bit more info on the EW Sys Op day-to-day life is like and what tends to happen when an Ew Sys Op gets deployed - am I likely to get attached to another regiment and do patrols or something with them? (This isn't a problem, just wanting a heads up).

I have done a search through the site, but have been unable to find anything quite the same as what I'm after, hence me posting!

Hope some of you can help me out with this, feel free to ask for anymore info if it would help with the advice you may be able to give!

Thanks! (hope this isn't too much in one go)

2. Oh no you haven't. Poor show, try again this time with feeling!

3. FFS join the RAF. They actually make an attempt to look after you. Also you chances of avoiding Brawdy are greater.

4. What's wrong with Brawdy? Apart from it being in the arse-end of nowhere (although, I do have family near there! haha)

5. Send a PM to Alpha_Kenny_Thing

As an EWS with the army you will be out and about on operations if you get to Afghan. I'm not sure how it would work with the RAF, though, but I imagine there would be a less of a chance of you doing so.