electrical/electronic jobs in the army

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by lodgi, Feb 16, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all. I'm currently 22 and thinking of joining the army. I am currently doing a National Diploma in electrical and electronic engineering. I was hoping to do something like this in the army.

I went to see a recruitment sergeant the other day and he told me he thinks I should finish my course before joining. He said I might be able to miss some parts of trade training out if I all ready have the qualification I am studying.

I was just wondering what are the best jobs in this area in the army? I've obviiously read what jobs are available but just from reading them I can't get a full idea of what the actual job is, where you'd be based, if you'd be based abroad etc. Any info would be great.

I've read about avionics engineer, and electrician in the RE, but wondered about the other ones?
  2. Depends, are you talking big power stuff or circuit boards the answer will steer you between the main 3 that cover this area bieng RE,Sigs or REME. Your diploma wouldnt get you out of any Sigs training however.
  3. Have you any idea where you might be based if you were in any of these corps?

I'm not too sure on the way the army is structured. Would it depend on your job as to where you were stationed?
  4. As Signals you could be posted mostly in Germany or the UK dependant on trade or augmented out to Infantry Bn's.

The RE are more UK based with more smaller overseas postings and they augment out skillsets on mass to operations.

REME are shotgunned acrossed the armed forces embedded within the infantry and beyond.

All three have a large commitment to Operations so you will get plenty of time in the sun.