Electrical/avionics Tech

Discussion in 'REME' started by joeyball, Mar 8, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Is there any one on the forum who does either of these jobs, if there is would you mind answering a few questions if i drop you a PM?

2. yes I am an Avionic tech

PM me your questions.

3. No requirement to keep this to a PM coz everyone knows this stuff. The aviation community has a limited selection when it comes to postings. Dishforth or Wattisham at the moment with Germany if you're very lucky, and even that's not going to be around for that much longer. You also have to deal with the AAC, which, once you realise that they need instructions to tie their own shoelaces, is n't too bad. Also, if you become a greenie, you will have to be prepared to work harder and longer than the blackies, because there's less of us, also we're quite capable of helping them wield their big spanners, but they are unable to grasp the most simple electronic theory!!
    All in all, if you've got the choice, go black hat!!!

4. Tytus_Barnowl

Tytus_Barnowl On ROPs

Ask yourself:
    Do I want to be a Soldier and work alongside Soldiers?
    Do I want an easy life wearing a Uniform getting the pay and wearing a nice blue powder blue beret?
    If you get promotion as an aircraftsman it is usually found in a cornflakes packet.
    If you get promotion as an armourer you have proved that you earned it.
    Your choice and good luck.
    Incoming expected from the nerdy techs.

5. What is the current manning situation like for Electronic Techs?

Is there a long waiting list after selection?

6. :lol:
    Check out bitter bloke

7. Tytus_Barnowl

Tytus_Barnowl On ROPs

Passed the Math test ok, never wanted to be tech in Aircraft world.