Either TA or Regs???

Discussion in 'REME' started by moggyjnr, Jan 4, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hey, hope anyone can help!!! i'm currently in the TA training as a metalsmith.. have been for nearly five years. Due to a change in relationships i have the urge to join full time..i'm only 22 so why not?? a few years ago i was medically reffered for one year and in that time i enlisted into TA.

I'm a soldier through and through and love the army life and the experiences!! i have the chance to go to cyprus for 6month tour but not sure weather to join full time as a metalsmith!!

i have looked intro transferring but nothing came of it as i would have to leave the TA and re-enlisted to the regs and go through all the training again!!!!!!!

Any help and advice would be welcomed with open arms!!
  2. Evening.

Go to Cyprus as a metalsmith - if you don't like life as a metalsmith you've had a chance at it and 6 months to think about something else.
    If you do like it - either keep at it in the TA or sign up full time - You've got a great opportunity to get paid, get a tan and try something - give it a go!

What other trades have you thought about? There's plenty to do.

Good luck Moggy of the junior type!

3. well when i joined over 4 years ago i had the choice of three trades

metalsmith i liked the most...to be totally honest itend to do alot more hands on stuff when i go on exercise. i'm the only metalsmith in my unit so i'm normally left to do sod all!!!
  4. Im sure if they were your choices you'd have been asked to consider reccy mech, LOL... you ever given any thought to that? Reccy Mech is an awesome job, being a bit bias as I am one, but oh well, look into all the trades the REME has to offer...