Efficiency Decoration - Post Nominals?

Discussion in 'Medals' started by stagon, Jul 15, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Following a few too many Dame Ednas I was awoken recently by a knock on the door. Resplendent in my Garfield slippers and spiderman PJs and stinking of the night before I opened the door to be presented the Efficiency Decoration Territorial 82 by my Polish Postie. As you can imagine I was brimming with pride at this auspicious occasion and the manner in which it was presented. I will treasure the jiffy bag in which it was delivered for ever and will no doubt be something to show the grandchildren. A quick question- I was an Officer, so does this entitle me to the post-Nominals TD?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Yes, I believe so if it is the same decoration my old man has then you are entitled to TD

3. Fascinating as all this is, I have an idea that the Territorial Decoration in the period in which the OP served actually is - strictly speaking - the Efficiency Decoration, but for officers continued to be referred to as the Territorial Decoration with the postnominals TD. See that infallible authority, ARRSEpedia.

4. My old man has an MBE. I've never seen him use it anywhere, on anything.

You'd have to be a sad **** to use TD after your name.

5. Indeed. Though the OP, if he received the TD would be entitled to use the post noms 'TD'. The ED is a totally different medal because of the qualifying criteria.

6. Indeed. Anyone with an ED but using TD post noms would be an Older & Bolder Walt.

7. OldSnowy

OldSnowy LE Moderator Book Reviewer