Ecuador seizes control of US oil company

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Agent_Smith, May 19, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Seems to be a pattern developing here!

Who is pulling the strings? Could it be Castro getting his last laugh, or could it be an other source?

www.telegraph.co.uk

2. I'm no expert on geopolitics, but, given there's beena mahousive lurch to the left in S.America, as can happen during economic turmoil, could we be seeing some sort of Latin America Warsaw Pact happening, with countries united not by a common goal but by a common (ideological) enemy, the U.S.
    probably not but i do wonder

edited beacuse i can't type

3. It appears to be a trend which will sacrifice long-term prosperity for a quick buck in the short-term, with leftie governments playing the easy yet puerile "evil multinational oil companies" and "evil USA" card. I do also suspect the hand of Castro at work.

If I owned an oil company operating in that region at the moment, I would seriously consider plugging my wells and getting out.

4. Do these governments not realise that when they start nationalising industries it prevents further foriegn investment?

No oil company in its right mind will now explore or develop in that country (or bolivia) unless they can get in and out like a rat out of an aquaduct. Often state "compensation" if there is any is purely the cost of equipment, not the cost that went into exploration of that and the 1000 sites that didn't get developed.

As someone rightly said by nationalising they make a quick buck now, but they're screwing themselves over in the future.