ECM(FP) Sqn

Alright everyone?

I've nearly finished my trade training at Blandford and recently got my posting to ECM in Northern Ireland. Im a Sys Eng Tech. but no one can tell me about the posting... Was just wondering if anyone has been posted there and what its like working there? I've been assigned to A Trp thats all I know.

I used to live in Northern Ireland so I know what the country is like I'm just after some info on the job and oppertunities... I did Lanyard with 11 Signals Regt. but I dont think ECM put a team in... does anyone know if they train for it or even enter it?

Thanks for any help and I understand due to the sensitivity of the subject of ECM it might be hard to offer some info but anything is welcome!

Cheers!

Fatwood, have you tried asking your 11 Sig Regt troop staff about it? I'm pretty sure there must be some guys in Blandford who could advise.

How about phone them and speak to another person of your trade in the unit? Best way to get introduced and get a heads up about whats happening out there.

TARE

Old-Salt
Finished in the squadron last year. Top lot, top job. Cant go into specifics on this means. PM me for details if you want.

Be prepared to deploy - at least twice..

Sqn is now part of 10 Sig Regt. The Regt put forward a team for lanyard trophy. You might be able to take part if you are in the UK (I'm currently in TELIC).

Sqn is undermaned so be prepared to be busy.

Whilst working WITH ecm just remember one thing FORGET EVERYTHING YOU WERE TAUGHT AT BLANDFORD BECAUSE WE DO NOT DO COMMS HERE !!

Smoking_Sigs said:
FORGET EVERYTHING YOU WERE TAUGHT AT BLANDFORD BECAUSE WE DO NOT DO COMMS HERE !!
I reckon you could possibly sell the unit slightly better.