Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by Fatwood7, Dec 13, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright everyone?

I've nearly finished my trade training at Blandford and recently got my posting to ECM in Northern Ireland. Im a Sys Eng Tech. but no one can tell me about the posting... Was just wondering if anyone has been posted there and what its like working there? I've been assigned to A Trp thats all I know.

I used to live in Northern Ireland so I know what the country is like I'm just after some info on the job and oppertunities... I did Lanyard with 11 Signals Regt. but I dont think ECM put a team in... does anyone know if they train for it or even enter it?

Thanks for any help and I understand due to the sensitivity of the subject of ECM it might be hard to offer some info but anything is welcome!

2. Fatwood, have you tried asking your 11 Sig Regt troop staff about it? I'm pretty sure there must be some guys in Blandford who could advise.
  3. Cow

Cow LE

How about phone them and speak to another person of your trade in the unit? Best way to get introduced and get a heads up about whats happening out there.
  4. get in touch with 11 EOD fella and ask for the sigs there.
  5. Finished in the squadron last year. Top lot, top job. Cant go into specifics on this means. PM me for details if you want.
  6. Be prepared to deploy - at least twice..

Sqn is now part of 10 Sig Regt. The Regt put forward a team for lanyard trophy. You might be able to take part if you are in the UK (I'm currently in TELIC).

Sqn is undermaned so be prepared to be busy.

7. I reckon you could possibly sell the unit slightly better.