Early Service Leavers for BBC documentary

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by DomBBC, Jan 5, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I'm a producer at BBC Birmingham making a film looking at problems faced by Early Service Leavers, due to the much reduced levels of support and help given when going back to civilian life. If you were an ESL I'd really appreciate hearing from you about what your experiences were when it came to leaving the forces. I can be reached at - dominic.carveley@bbc.co.uk I've already spoken to the administrator - Bad CO - who's approved puting this posting up. Thanks very much.

2. I just wondered what support you would get from the BBC if you decided to leave them after 10-20 years...do they give you CTW, interview and CV advice, Resettlement advice ???

Just a quick question as Im sure service leavers get a far better package when deciding to move on than the BBC would give you so where do you get this REDUCED level of support idea from???

3. Ravers

Ravers LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

I left after just 6 years and I was more than happy with the support I received:

3 day CV and interview workshop including travel costs.

Just over £500 plus travel, food and accommodation allowance to retrain for a different job, in the end this equated to around £1700.

**** loads of paid time off to do courses and look for jobs etc. I think you officially get a week but I managed to blag tons more.

Free use of internet, during work time, to look for a new job.

Free medical and dental check up prior to leaving.

Enhanced Learning Credits equating to £3000.

Cheers ******* easy.

Added to the fact that from the day I put my notice in, I did literally no work for an entire year and still got paid, I'd say my overall experience was rather satisfactory.