Early demobs

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by morepressupsplease, Jan 19, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm interested in hearing about people's experiences of being demobbed early due to the Afghan drawdown. Particularly why it happened, what happened, your CoC's attitude towards it and if/how it has affected you. I am aware that it is a growing issue and for my own professional interest as a TA officer I would like to understand the scale of it. I also want to understand a few things for when I'm discussing it with my own (regular) CoC/have some anecdotes to use.

You can check my other posts to see I'm serving and not a journalist.

If there is anything sensitive please PM rather than post publicly.

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)
  2. Why would it be a "growing issue?" Everything the army does is done with the caveat "In the army's interests".

It obviously has an impact on those who have applied to mobilise and subsequently either don't get selected (for a variety of reasons), but surely this risk should have been explained to them by their unit staff.
  3. It is a growing issue... Because it is increasingly happening. In growing numbers. And it is an issue-I.e a risk that has materialised.

Yes, perhaps everything is done in the Army's interests. However, it is in the Army's interests not to demob reservists early and mess up their civilian lives, because then they will leave. And tell their mates not to join. And their employers will not support the reserves. And will discourage workers from joining. Employers owe nothing to the Army, which is why FR20 is struggling with perception so much.