DV and depression

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by suzywongster, May 31, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Is your DV affected if you get diagnosed with depression? Or any other psych problem?
  2. just be honest about everything mate. biggest reason for failing vetting is - lying or trying to conceal something.

you wouldn't believe some of the things people have confessed to in DV interviews - and kept their vetting.

honesty honesty honesty. all the way.
  3. You should inform DVA they will then decide if it is relevant to your clearance, i had a member of staff who tried to commit suicide. DVA decided to suspend the clearance until they had received a copy of an assesment from the persons Psychiatrist
  4. Wouldn't someone diagnosed with depression be sent on sick leave? I'm no expert, but I would have thought that depression and firearms are not an ideal combination.
  5. 'honesty honesty honesty. all the way.'

What Corps are you in again CR?!?!?!?!?

CG..... or is it?
  6. Not 100% on this but I think it may be 3 years symptom / medication free and you are considered OK.

I think clearance would depend on a lot of factors. If you tried to conceal it you would definitely be seen as unreliable.

The nature of the job means a lot of good people get depressed at some period, whether they admit it or not.

It didn't affect Winston Churchills ability to thrash the filthy Hun so good luck!
  7. as someone who has a bad habit of being brutally honest too much of the time... question my belt-size, but don't question my integrity :)
  8. Agree with CR on this one. When dealing with any vetting issue its vital to tell the truth about everything. A criminal record and/or history of mental illness do not necessarilly preclude you from recieving clearance but getting caught out lying about anything will.