Dogmatic Personality- Fail at Aosb

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Micky_Blue, Jul 26, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good Morning Arrse,

Perhaps I can have a bit of positive criticism from you insightful bunch. To paint a picture, I am not a University Graduate, I have never been interested in pursuing a degree as my ambition from an early age has been to pursue a career in the Army as an officer, I achieved the desired grades at Alevel, spent 3 years in the T.A. and travelled the world to fulfil the “cultured and well travelled” characteristic of a well rounded candidate for Sandhurst. I attained a Cat 1 a my briefing and, brimming with confidence I attended my Main board, I worked well with my syndicate, my phys was above the average, my plan ex was (quoted from the debrief) a somewhat risky but overall sound plan, overall I believe I delivered a solid all round performance at Westbury, I wasn’t the best, but I most certainly wasn’t the worst.

The day came and I received my letter informing my I was not successful, this was due to the board considering myself to have a “dogmatic personality” and that my essay was “below average”. When my Aca advised me of this, I smiled politely and pretended I knew exactly what she meant, after googling the word ive found the definition is: Characterized by an authoritative, arrogant assertion of unproved or unprovable principles.

Genuinely confused by this, I have always worked well in a team, and felt that at my syndicate I took everyone’s opinions into consideration, I put my opinion across, but I was very aware that I should not appear to be “bossing” the other members of the syndicate, so the fact they board Identified this trait is worrying.