Does the OTC work as a recruiting tool?

Discussion in 'Officers' started by barbarasson, Aug 26, 2006.

?
  1. I am a regular officer and I served in the OTC

28.3%
  2. I am a regular officer who didn't serve in the OTC

25.0%
  3. I am a TA officer who was in the OTC or a TASO

28.3%
  4. I am a TA officer who didn't serve in the OTC

10.0%
  5. I am late entry, you foppish ex-student pillocks

8.3%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Further to a never-ending debate in another forum about the utility of the OTC in recruiting, were you in the OTC before commissioning? Are all those mtds really a worthwhile? Are the piss ups different from any others at university? Did you get the smell of damp kit into your system and needed to keep your kick?

This is not a question of 'does the OTC turn out officers'? but simply, did the OTC play a part in your eventual commissioning?

Obviously the poll can't take into account all things, such as people who were sixth form scholars etc, but it will hopefully do as a rule of thumb.

2. The question is a bit pointless.

A lot of people join the OTC. A lot of them join the Army (and TA). Therefore the OTC either helped recruit them by introducing newbies to the concept, or by reinforcing the enthusiasm of those that already wanted to join.

3. The point is to discover how many it introduced or encouraged!

Are you sure you are compus_mentis?

4. I was in Wales UOTC. I was pursuing a commission beforehand, and I am still to go to Sandhurst (passed RCB and all that jazz yonks ago). In my opinion, unless carefully managed, an OTC can be poison to those who are unsure whether or not they want to commission into the regular army.