Doctor as an OR

Doc Badger

Clanker
I was a private soldier in the reserves for a good bit before I went to uni to study medicine. I was wondering if anyone knows of any precedent for a doctor staying in the ranks? Not necessarily filling a medical role.

Of course: Tropper was moonlighting as a Visiting Professor at Trinity during "the troubles"...

Oyibo

LE
There was one in the Parachute Regiment who joined as a tom. But he was eventually pursuaded to take a commission and be an RMO.

FORMER_FYRDMAN

LE
Book Reviewer
I was a private soldier in the reserves for a good bit before I went to uni to study medicine. I was wondering if anyone knows of any precedent for a doctor staying in the ranks? Not necessarily filling a medical role.

Given the skills and abilities that you now possess, and given that the Reserves now regularly deploy on operations, do you not feel that you have some vocational responsibility to serve where you can do the most good?

Given the skills and abilities that you now possess, and given that the Reserves now regularly deploy on operations, do you not feel that you have some vocational responsibility to serve where you can do the most good?
Alternative view, you want a second job that isn't just your day job in DPM, which is why I joined in the ranks, when both my educational level and management experience would have got me a commission. That said as a medic I suspect you're going to get some pretty heavy ear bending to encourage you to 'rethink'.

Doc Badger

Clanker
Cheers. :)

Thanks BeardyProf - I can imagine how enthusiastic the power that be in my unit would be if I raised this with them. Lol.

Doc Badger

Clanker
Cheers no-body, there's a lot about the MO job that I know I'd enjoy. I've considered going regular too. I'll just bear the job in mind.

FORMER_FYRDMAN

LE
Book Reviewer