Do you need to shout ?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by softynotshouty, May 15, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Talking to a friend recently (he SSgt me Cpl) he has told me that certain people within my chain of command consider that I am not SNCO material as I am not, for want of a better description, shouty enough; and that someone else who will shortly be returning to the unit after a couple of years out of trade is going to be pushed towards the same Sgt's slot that I have been marking time for these past 18 months, so in effect I will be passed over.

Now I freely admit that I am a quiet chap and am certainly not SSM material (it would be hard to bollock somebody for having long hair when yours is longer than theirs !) however I have never felt the need to raise my voice to get things done and would go so far as to say that if you do need to shout then something has gone wrong. As far as I can remember I have only used rank the once and that was to make someone go to bed on exercise, but that fact that I said LCpl X go to bed made it more than clear that I wasn't joking about and they duly went off to get some rest.

So my question to the forum is am I in the minority, is getting things done quietly, and they do get done it isn't a case of things slipping, frowned upon and should I just accept that as I am not going to start putting on an act (which everyone will know is an act) and start shouting and 'getting a grip' of people that I have no prospect of further promotion ?
  2. I shouted more at my kids than I ever did the troopers who worked for me but then my kids were idle and the troopers..... less idle
  3. PARDON?
  4. Hummm…

Shouting as a way of getting things done = management
    Persuading people as a way of getting things done = leadership
  5. Right then....