Do you feel lucky? New 5.56

I would think that any article containing this line,

The traditional bullets are designed to wound an enemy fighter so comrades are distracted and go to their aid

would give a good indication as to the reporters understanding of anything.

Having now read the whole article I would be surprised if the "reporter" Kate Mansey can actually dress herself in the morning.

Just create a 400 metre long bayonet instead, they don't like it up em.

Edit: Except on Thursday.

Forum: Current Affairs, News and Analysis

Politics, Current Affairs, Geo-Political Analysis. For Daily Mail stories please use The Int Cell!

?

Explain CQMS, I'm no munitions expert but I was always had the understanding that our current rounds were originally designed to cause maximum damage on the enemy without killing them. The theory being that an injured soldier will waste the enemies resources as his comrades try to treat him and casevac him. Ideal theory if your fighting a cold war pitched battle, not so important in todays climate where enemy fighter aren't so highly valued by there own side.

Ammunition is designed to render an enemy ineffective, whether by fear wounds or death it matters not. Speculation about their attitude to wounded comrades does not form any part of the design.

It is in fact a flawed argument, we are duty bound to assist a wounded enemy, they are not.

Edited to add:

Ask any doctor if you can start making 5.56mm holes in people with the expectation that they won't die and see what he says.

?