Do we have to believe in what we are fighting for?

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Crazy_FOO, Jul 14, 2006.

?
  1. Yes. I would resign before going on an operation I didn't believe in.

14.6%
  2. If a democratically elected government decides to go to war that is sufficient for me.

14.6%
  3. The politics of it is irrelevant- I go on ops because I am a professional soldier.

58.5%
  4. Bring it on! The more ops the better - don't care who we fight!

12.2%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I was speaking to a German officer recently. In their leadership philosophy it is a command function to explain to soldiers why they are going on a particular operation; why it is morally and politically the right thing to do.

Their view is that a soldier who is convinced that his cause is just is better motivated than a soldier who goes where's he told without thinking too much about it. A common (probably not majority) view is that such a soldier is no better than a mercenary.

So the question is to all those ARRSERs who have been to Iraq/AFG or are going to go (ie everyone!): given the political background to these operations how important is it to be given

a. a sound political and moral reason for going?
    b. to believe it?

I was on TELIC 1 and apart from a rallying CO's eve of battle speech there was never any direct explanation of the whys and wherefores that I remember. I also don't ever remember discussing it with anyone.

2. We go where blair tells us, if you dont like it you go to prison!

3. Do as your told and leave the moralising to the politicians. So long as you're not asked to do anything against the Geneva convention - stag on.