Do troops on security have to have an SIA licence

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by loski, Jul 16, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I work as a security officer and by law if I want to work I am required to pay out for a SIA licence have the troops pulled in to provide security at the Olympics to make up for G4S's shortfall require an SIA licence if so who is paying the SIA fees the troops, G4S or our beloved govt just wondering
  2. I find it hard to believe two weeks before the Olympics it would be possible to get 3500 SIA licences through. To be honest I doubt that apart from the Navy lads troops have much experience fire fighting when the fireman go on strike either.
  3. As you are a security officer , that is the minimum form of training/registration you require. As most people in HM Forces (except RAF) do longer than 4 days training then they don't have to do SIA . If they did , you would pay for it out of your taxes .
  4. Yeh I know its just that if I try and work with out a licence i get fined but when it suits the govt can change the rules to suit them the rules should apply to every one no exceplions oh an BTW the SIA training course is as much use as a chocolate fireguard where do you mupets think I received my training HM forces
  5. Are you for real?
    • Like Like x 5
  6. Yeah but then they would have to cancel the Olympics and that's just not going to happen is it?

I dont know if you know much about the military but security is kind of what we do?
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Troops don't work for the security industry, they serve the crown and in the main will have more idea about security than someone employed by G4S.

They will be paid for by HMG. Hopefully HMG will get their money back from G4S and give the troops a bonus, they cant have spent it all, can they??