Dissertation help required!

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by sotonstudent, Feb 1, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi!

I'm hoping you might be able to help me.

I'm in my final year at Southampton uni and am writing a dissertation on sexual assault in warfare.... I know, a pretty awful subject and, yes, I can ruin a good party in about 5 minutes flat.

However, I'm looking at all these different social theories that have been proposed following Bosnia and Rwanda and realise not ONE theorist has thought to ask the military why they think it happens.

Now OBVIOUSLY the British Army is not known for this but my Czech is somewhat lacking and, following a brief talk with someone just back from Afghanistan, I thought your opinions are still worth more than those who have NEVER been in a combat environment.

Number one: I don't want to offend anyone. Not in anyway am I suggesting that you guys would have attacked women etc- like I said, I'm specifically looking into Bosnia and Rwanda for my dissertation.

BUT assaults DO happen in the military and, having read 'Mass Rape' by Stiglmayer, I (in my idealistic youth) would very much like to try and put a stop to it in future wars.... And you guys might have the insight I'm looking for.

Basically, I have drawn up a survey and would love it if you took the time to HONESTLY fill it out... Some questions are borderline controversial BUT it's all entirely anonymous. It will be confidential and not used outside of my dissertation..... But it IS pivotal to my dissertation so all help would be very much appreciated!

The link for the survey is:

*edit* please PM me is you would like to partake.

Many thanks in advance,

Kat.

2. unbelievable!!!
    i thought i had seen everything on this site

what kind of response do you seriously expect from the members who use