Dissertation: British Army capabilities post Cold War

Hello all,
My name is Hugh and I am an MSc student at the University of Glasgow on the International Relations course, and I am looking for candidates to participate in my dissertation research on the British Army in the post-Cold War and post-Afghanistan eras. My topic is ‘Have the previous three decades irreparably damaged the British Army’s battlefield capabilities?’. Anyone participating will be sent a questionnaire via ARRSE's PM system. Answers can be as short or in depth as you like, and is expected to require around 30 minutes of your time.

I have already contacted the admin team here at ARRSE and Bad CO has kindly given me permission to use the site for my research.

Who am I looking for?
Ideally, I’m looking for serving and recently retired members of the Army, however I am aware that ARRSE is a broad parish with varied and interesting members – which is one of the reasons I came here.
Accordingly, I am looking for a wide range of candidates rather than limiting the pool to just those who are currently serving in the Army:
  • Serving or retired members of the armed forces (British Army, Royal Navy, Royal Air Force). All ranks.
  • Civil Service staff (MoD, DSTL, etc), working or retired.
  • Subject matter experts – I’m aware that there are a few defence industry professionals and experts on here, and would gladly welcome their input.
  • If you are not part of any of the above categories but think you may have valuable input, please feel free to get in contact to discuss the matter further.

Anonymity, personal data and security
This forum thread is intended to recruit candidates. The research and your participation will be in the form of a questionnaire via ARRSE’s personal message system (this may seem strange, however this was the only way I could get ethical approval for this research from the Postgraduate Ethics Committee at Glasgow).