Discharge

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by charley171, Oct 11, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    I am a writing student with the Open University and am researching a piece on a soldier who has been declared unfit for duty due to mental health difficulties. This story is taken from the personal experience of an older family member - this person does not wish to speak about the incident directly, though he is ok with me writing about it.

My relative's experience was several years ago (though I have updated it to modern day) and I do not know the details of his discharge. I am unable to find any information on discharge from the British Army on the internet. I would be grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction. I specifically need to know whether a soldier who was taken mentally ill in the field would be permanently discharged or would be declared 'unfit for service'. If declared unfit, does this prevent them receiving any rights, e.g. pension, etc.? Also, would a soldier be given any medical help on his return to the UK (though i suspect i already know the answer to that question).

Many thanks,

Charley

2. What do you mean by that?

I wouldn't expect too much help, we are pretty suspicious about 'writers' motives, more so given your post tally.

3. try asking the RBL, combat stress, SAAFA....

4. Hi,