Disapointment

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by comrade-max, Jul 20, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hello, i am currently a sixteen year old ACF cadet, sorry for posting here didnt know where to post it, i have bin overweight most of my life and about 18 months ago i started training upto the fitness standards required for basic officer entry, i got quite close, (i managed to go from 1/2 pressup to 69 pressups in about a month, i was chuffed), i then discovered my eyesight was past the boundaries required for entry, i have been told that this is because of somet to do with the susat, however i have used a susat and havnt scored badly atall. i was wondering if theyre is any way around this requirement, if not are theyre any eye exercises to do-short-sight me and improve my vision, im not everso below the boundary even my optition wasnt sure

2. Have you had a military medical? ie: pre RCB or something? If it's just your optician doing this, how do they know what the standard is?

3. i found a naval entry form which has the details attached, it says for entry into the services (not service, atleast i think not), im too young to go in for proper stuff yet so i went too my optiitons

4. Who told you that your eyesight wasn't good enough? An optician at your local Boots? The Army eye-sight test consists of a very simple "cover your left eye, read out the letters, vice versa with the opposite eye, read the colour blindness detection booklet" job done. Don't rule yourself out because you 'think' you have bad eyesight. Unless your eyesight is really sh*t then maybe you should let the Army medical staff decide, when you attend recruit selection. Good Luck.