Direct Line

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by Forsaken_Child, Jan 31, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just tried getting a quote from Direct Line, all well and good when using Skilled as the job description got a fairly good quote, but when changed it to HM Forces, the site refuses to give you a quote, anyone else had a drama with this company discriminating against us.

2. Not with them but with a lot of others. Not only car insurance either....

I tried to get life cover for our mortgage about 4 years ago and only two companies would even quote for me and my wife because of my job. The two that did quote were ridiculously expensive (I expected that would be the case though to be honest). :roll:

3. Well guess I'll have to a little creative then, after all I'm a professional soldier, so I'll have to select professional.

4. Also helps when you select that you have been driving company cars for X amount of years....... signed work ticket ....landrover = car ..covered by company insurance.....

wiped loads of my quote.

5. I've been with them for over 7 yrs and always as HM Forces, no problems. Have you used a BFPO address? sometimes insurance companies are reluctant to insure you in this instance, which is still wrong.

6. For what its worth telling firms you are a police driver is reputed to put your premiums up, especially as every minor dink in a job motor will be investigated and reported by a supervisor so must be declared.

Trotsky

7. I wouldn't claim to be a 'professional' if you aren't. I don't intend any offence, but what they mean is doctors, vets, lawyers, architects etc - being the thieving gypos they are they will look for any excuse not to pay out in the event of the claim and you would end up not being covered.