Dieppe - The Shame or.....

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by Bubbles_Barker, Dec 24, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. the holiday.....

OK, next Easter's annual trip to France for Bubbles' family can no longer thinly disguise a Normandy battlefield tour (hey - 6 years aint bad!). I've rented a nice gite a few miles from Dieppe and St Valery but I'm no expert on the early war years.

I'm assuming that St Valery will be a decent visit from a 1940, 51 HD surrender viewpoint (sniff, sniff) but really it's Dieppe that I think will be the Main Effort. It has all the ingredients: Churchill tanks shot to bits on the beach, valiant Canadians, dodgy plans, even dodgier OPSEC (apparently), US Rangers (yes, that's right, US Rangers), Army Commandos (Lord Lovat of course) and never-ending accusations of incompetence and bad planning.

Sounds just like my day job, except we don't need the Germans to **** us up.

Anyway. My point is - is there a book to beat all books that I should read? Is it worth reading up on the RAF 'Mother of all Air Battles' beforehand? I've got the Tim Saunders 'Battleground' book on order but does anyone of you very knowledgeable types out there know exactly what I should be looking to see?

Did we really stiff the Canucks that badly or is a bit of revisionist history in order?
  2. Without a Dieppe, you could've forgotten about an Overlord.
  3. Yes - I see that a lot in various books. But when you see the sea wall, and the pile of dead Canucks in front of it killed by an enfilading MG post some 300yds away, I do sometimes wonder whether we could have worked that out without the casualties? Hindsight I suppose.

Hell of a way to learn lessons.
  4. Thanks for that info ...Green Beach is about to become the first book to be downloaded to my early Christmas Prezie Kindle .