DETAPOs generally - and in the HAC especially

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Dr_Evil, Oct 11, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Does the HAC still impose that rule in these benighted Blairite days of the DETAPO?

The reason I ask is that all sorts of random bods are presenting themselves at central London units I know (ahem!) having been passed by the DETAPO selection machine and told to go find a unit to sponsor them. They arrive complete with "I'm an officer" airs and graces (and expectations), practically demanding a place despite being at the very start of their big adventure and therefore completely unknown quantities.

Going behind the unit's back to be selected as a DETAPO in this way bypasses the usual (reasonably effective) selection system. Some do not realise that this is what they're doing but others plainly do. Sleek and crafty, they know that they are fast-tracking. What they don't realise is that starting out in the ranks would do them good.

In short, is it still open to the HAC and other units which face constant proto-Rupert bombardment to say "try us as a private for a couple of years and then we'll see"? Are units OBLIGED to accept DETAPOs who turn up?

2. Yes and no. In the absence of official guidelines (for there are none) we have evolved a process whereby either a CO says this guy/girl is good to go or else we put them through our own assessment w/e and advise the receiving unit of our opinions. It works best where a Bn/Regt nominates one single Officer for the OC DETAPO Wing to liaise with.

RCB Briefing is the primary filter and that is only correct and proper as they have the expertise in sifting the numpties out (and the clout to tell COs to wind their necks in)