Deployment in the TA as a student?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by kimmy84, May 6, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am due to start a 4 year Pharmacy degree in September- however I am a qualified Radiogapher and am interested in joining the T.A. Is there a possibility I would get deployed whilst I was studying? With the degree already being 5 years including my pre reg year- I wouldnt want to make this much longer than it already is.

I am awaiting responses from my e-mails to my local Med T.A- but I was wondering if anyone could help me with some info?

Thank you! :)

2. I think you will find that you can not be compulsorily mobilised if you are in full-time education, at any level from sixth-form to full-time post-graduate courses.

3. hello kimmy,

I'm a TA student myself and i was told that Deployments are vollontary right now, although policy on this can change at any moment. Being in full time education can be a reason to appeal against mobilisation if you didn't want to defer your studies for a year.

Hope that helped

4. No, being in full time education IS a reason and they won't reject it, unless the 3rd Peoples Liberation Army Group are marching down Trafalgar Square.

Have a look at the wiki mate, under the FAQ's, its pretty comprehensive.

5. Thanks mate, will do

6. Thanks everyone!! That has helped loads! I this the T.A may be more relevant than the OTC- but i was worried about delaying my studies.

7. msr

msr LE

Enjoy the OTC then have a look at the TASO scheme.

Which Uni are you going to?

msr

8. I am hoping to join the regular army afterwards.

Going to Medway school of pharmacy

Kim

9. Why msr? As far as I can see the only thing that makes the OTC more compatible with Students is that they understand that Uni comes first....which to be honest most TA units will.