Defense sector warns of Chinese laser-cannon threat

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by msr, Dec 22, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. msr

msr LE

China has successfully developed a laser cannon with a range of over 100km and might have already deployed it in Fujian Province facing Taiwan, defense sources said yesterday.

Intelligence shows that the laser cannon might be able to paralyze the command and control systems of the military which are concentrated in the western parts of the country.
  2. It is interesting to note that the Taiwan military seem to use this as an excuse for increased defence spending.

I'm no techie, but I would be very surprised if this were true. Especially when they have only just got a man into space.
  3. Unknown_Quantity

Unknown_Quantity War Hero Moderator

The fact that the chinese only recently put a man in space is not really the main issue for defence anylists, the fact that they did it with no known serious technical errors is far more significant.

The americans, europeans and russians have all had shaky experiences with space missions. If the chinese can do it first time, without hicups then maybe we've been underestimating them.
  4. 100Km, huh! Neat trick if they can also make a laser bend to follow the curvature of the Earth. Far as I can recall lasers were supposed tobe a line of sight doodad. I'm not quite certain what the eyeline distance is at sea level, but I'm pretty sure the horizon drops off somewhere short of 8-10 km; correct me if I'm wrong. Beam dispersion/atmospheric scattering over 100km might a bit of a problem, too. Nevertheless, we wait to be amazed. Damned clever, these Chinese.
  5. and frightening if they decide to conquer the world , we would have a job stopping them
  6. Do we, Did we not have a laser weapon on some of our ships?