Defence Cut Impact On Officer Recruitment?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by dario, Apr 4, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. As a wannabe officer, i'm both concerned and ignorant about the impact of these announcements. Army size is set to reduce by 6.5% in 3 years. To me this means that the army is looking for less officers. This means that either:

a) RMAS is now a more competitive process
    b) AOSB will pass less candidates

Is this a fair assumption? Is there something i'm missing? Is there actually no real impact?
  2. In all honesty, I don't think that you'll see any tangible difference in recruiting terms at this stage. The redundancies do not even include officers (or soldiers) in their first few years of service and I my understanding from the instruction is that the recruiting tap will remain open, in order that we are not just left with a bunch of middle ranking and senior officers and no junior ones (and the equivelent for soldiers).

Bottom line, if you meet the standard then you'll get in, if you don't then you won't. Competition only really becomes a factor when competing for spaces in the popular regiments.
  3. Echoing Brave-Coward - I don't think you'll see any change to recruiting. The cuts will be made higher up.

For example (because it's the area that could affect me), Tranche 1 of redundancies (there will be 4 tranches) is looking at 14 RA Majors with 19 years service or more. So next to nobody I know is affected, because to still be a Maj at that point means you're probably holed up in some cushty number waiting for your pension and have dipped out on promotion to Lt Col a few times already. This is not to say they are useless or unworthy, but those are the areas decided to be the target.