Decission time - Any infomation gratefully recieved

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by fastboy, May 22, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Having left school last year and then working for a while I now intend on joining the army. I do have some small experience as I did serve for 3 years with the Air Cadets (OK I expect some jokes), I know the recuiting office stuff but would really appreciate some feed back from those actually serving/ex serving on the life etc.

I am not too technically minded and although a little overweight at the moment I am totally commited to my choice and am in the process of joinng a gym so I see no problems with fitness. I want to see action for definite and I like tradition so I wanted to join a fighting corp with a good reputation (Do reputations count when trying to get employment after leaving in places like Iraq working for security firms) So I was thinking of The Parachute Corp, a good infantry regiment or the Royal Marines. I have quite good exprience with firearms (hobby) and was a drill instructor when I was in the Cadets.

As I said, I would really appreciate any advise as my choice of regimant is by no means final and I am open to offers, so to say.

Thanks in advance

Rob

shifted while it is still G rated. mk

2. Rob

First things first, welcome to ARRSE.

Second - it's the Parachute Regiment, not Corps. They'd be upset I suspect if you refer to them as a Corps. It is, however, Her Majestys Corps of Royal Marines.

I've very little experience of infantry work (other than having been MO for 40 Cdo) so can't advise on this.

Good luck in your choices.

3. Oh dear lord
    Please tell me this is a wah.

4. Rob welcome to ARRSE.
    From reading your post you seem keen to join an infantry regiment.
    Have you thought of joining your 'Local Regiment'?