Decisions, decisions

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by gliding_bum, Aug 7, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey this is my first post here, although I have been reading the posts on here for some time - it cracks me up! lol :D

I live in the Bristol area and have been looking into joining one of the reserves in the area but am completely lost! I have no idea which tickles my fancy! If I have got this right there’s the RA, Engineers and the Sigs in the area but the RNR at FF looks tempting, and have been looking in on RR.

I'm an apprentice at present in engineering and dunno which route to take...

I also looked at the tankies in the area (must be such a laugh). Would that be worth it? Or am I wearing the "rose tinted glasses"?

On another note, I'm hopefully off to uni next year (Sept 2008) so would this be a problem? I hope to join the regulars when (if) I graduate, either the Navy or the Army.

As you can see I don’t know which direction to turn. Any help from present or past members of the above would be much appreciated.

2. Try 26 MI Coy in Keynsham, very friendly little outfit, excellent prospects and good social setup.
  3. Find out all of the ones in your local area and then pop along for a chat. Get a feel for the place and the people and see which one is for you :D
  4. If you're an active type,
    why not try 131 Commando RE in Bath.
    New unit, some good opportunities.
  5. RA is the way forward
  6. avoid the sigs at all costs. more trouble than they are worth.speak to the RA.
  7. chrisg46

chrisg46 LE Book Reviewer

Is there no inf unit in bristol any more? 6 Rifles?
  8. U might want to try 6 Rifles (infantry) at flying fox same place as RNR close to bristol city ground
  9. 266 Bty, Whiteladies Road. Tell them Cuddles sent you!
  10. Cheers for all of your replies they are proving helpful.