Debt Collection

Some of you may remember a few years ago I was a bit of admin nightmare, I would like to think that has improved. Over the previous few years as I have grafted to become debt free.

I still have a few outstanding bits and bobs including a credit card and a mobile phone contract. I spoke to a credit card provider and asked for a copy of the initial credit agreement. They could not provide it so they offered to write it off. The truth of the matter is I am honest so I have agreed to pay to the credit limit of the card (about half of the debt)

The mobile phone debt however when I asked for a copy of the initial agreement told me they did not have to provide it. I have done a bit of research online and I can not for the life of me figure out if what they are telling me is genuine.

Do I have a right to the initial credit agreement? What is my position if I dispute it on the grounds of I have no idea what they are charging me for?

Currently £1900 from being debt free.

Make an appointment with Citizens Advice. I had a problem and the guy I saw was great. They often have good contacts and creditors seem more willing to listen to them than you.

Posted quickly, while the cat's not sat on the keyboard.

CAB are variable - ok if you get a Money Advisor, not so good if it's a 'general' volunteer. It usually takes an age to get an appointment.

In any case, there is no obligation to provide a copy of a mobile phone contract, because it is not a credit agreement within the meaning of the Consumer Credit Act.

Mobile phone debts tend to get sold on quite quickly - are you dealing with the original phone company or a debt purchaser/collector?

Debt purchaser, Lowell financial they have sent letters despite me placing queries about what I am paying for under the name of Hamptons Legal and Red both of which are under the umbrella of Lowell.