debriefing query

Discussion in 'Seniors' started by starfish17, Apr 19, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, my first post to ARRSE, so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong place. I've read messages sometimes and liked the forums. Please can anyone help - I am an author looking for info for my fiction novel. After a winter military exercise in Norway, multi-national forces involved, what happens at debriefs? Three questions:
    Does each country's forces hold debriefs for their own forces or are there also debriefs for all nationalities together?
    Would any of the international forces share technology info with allies if the techonology used on exercise is new, or do they keep it to themselves (guarding intel etc)?
    Do all nationality forces get together for a piss-up afterwards?

Thanks if anyone can help.

2. Debriefs are held at each level, at some point there will be a multinational washup

Normal security applies, if there is shared tech already, then it would be shared. I remember when Ptarmigan came (SCRA) we let other people play with the terminals, but the interesting bit was off limits to just about everyone

International piss ups happen, but only if you like the Johnnies

3. Thanks very much, it helps a lot - scuse my ignorance (which is considerable when it comes to military matters) but are the Johnnies ....Johnny Walker Whisky? Or something else?

4. Mr Jonathan Foreigner, Esq.

So there'd be a multinational pissup with the vikings, because they can be a laugh, not the Belgians or the dutch as they go home at 17:00, and with the yanks only because they bring steaks with them

• Like Like x 1
  5. Love it! Thanks a lot, I've learned something new today!